The Most Amazing Cup of Coffee

The French Press

Coffee. I love my morning coffee. I love the aroma lingering through my house as I’m preparing for the day ahead.

I love my after dinner coffee. This flavorful elixir just completes my meal.

I own a Keurig 1-cup Brewer, and it’s nice and convenient for a quick cup of joe before heading out the door in the morning.  But on the weekend, or when I have a little more time to relax and enjoy a couple of cups of freshly brewed coffee, I bring out my French Press and the magic begins.

The French Press

A French press requires coffee of a coarser grind than a standard drip brew coffee filter, as finer grounds will seep through the press filter and into the coffee. French press coffee is brewed by placing the coffee and boiling hot water together, and leaving to brew for a few minutes.

Brewing the Coffee

After about 4 minutes, simply press the plunger to trap the coffee grounds at the bottom of the beaker.

The flavor of a French pressed coffee is so rich because the coffee grounds remain in direct contact with the brewing water, and the grounds are filtered from the water via a mesh (instead of a paper) filter, therefore coffee brewed with the French press captures more of the coffee’s flavor and essential oils (which would have become trapped in a traditional drip brew machine’s paper filters.)

I don’t need to add milk/cream or sugar. It’s delicisous as is. Just pour a cup and enjoy!

~ aww ~

As with drip-brewed coffee, French pressed coffee can be brewed to any strength by adjusting the amount of ground coffee that is brewed.

2 Comments

Filed under Cuisine française, French Finds

2 responses to “The Most Amazing Cup of Coffee

  1. I LOVE this pic with the French Press because I know it was taken in your kitchen! Looks like something out of a magazine! 🙂

Leave a Reply

