Sunday Morning Breakfast – French Toast

French Toast

One of my favorite things to eat for breakfast on any given weekend is French Toast. It’s been a family favorite at my house for years. So whenever my kids are home for a visit, or I have overnight guests, I’ll usually make this special treat.

This morning, I decided to make this delicious breakfast ~ just for me. I adapted my recipe to serve one, and pulled my griddle out of the cupboard. The great thing about French Toast is that it’s fairly easy to make, and takes only a few ingredients:

Deb’s French Toast
(serves 4)

Pre-heat frying pan or griddle on medium high heat.

5 whole eggs
1/2 cup of Milk
1/2 teaspoon of Vanilla extract
1/4 teaspoon of ground Cinnamon
8-10 slices of french bread (or other bread of your choice)
Canola or Vegetable oil

Whisk eggs, milk, vanilla and cinnamon together in a medium-sized bowl.

French toast in the making.

Drizzle oil on pre-heated frying pan/griddle, and give it some time to heat up.

Dip slices of french bread into the batter, one at a time, letting each slice soak for 10 seconds on each side.

soaking up the goodness

Immediately place battered bread on oiled and pre-heated griddle (pan must be hot); continue with each slice of bread until your pan is full.  Cook until golden brown, and turn over to cook the other side. I usually sprinkle some additional cinnamon on the toast before turning them over.

Cook until golden brown

Place French Toast on plate and sprinkle with powdered sugar.  Serve with butter and syrup.

Sunday Morning Breakfast

Bon Appétit!

Leave a comment

Filed under Cuisine française

Leave a Reply

